Chicago Style
The Chicago Notes and Bibliography (NB) system is often used in the humanities to provides writers with a system for referencing their sources through the use of footnotes, endnotes, and through the use of a bibliography. This offers writers a flexible option for citation and provides an outlet for commenting on those sources if needed. Proper use of the Notes and Bibliography system builds a writer’s credibility by demonstrating their accountability to the source material.
Generally, Chicago citations require:
* Author
* Title of book/article
* Title of newspaper/journal
* Publication year
* Publication month and date
* Publisher
* City of publication
* Date of access
* Page numbers
* URL or DOI (for some online sources)
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, Book Title, page #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Example
Full Note:
1. Salman Rushdie, The Ground Beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 25.
Shortened Note:
2. Rushdie, The Ground beneath, 28.
Bibliography:
Rushdie, Salman. The Ground Beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.
Concise Note:
2. Book Title, page #.
Bibliography:
Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Example
Full Note:
1. New York Public Library American History Desk Reference (New York: Macmillan, 1997), 87.
Concise Note:
2. New York Public Library, 87.
Bibliography:
New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York:
Macmillan, 1997.
If you are dealing with one editor instead of one author, insert the editor's name in the place where the author's name is now, followed by a comma and the word "ed." without quotation marks. The rest of the format remains the same.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, ed., Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.
Concise Note:
2. Author Surname, ed., Book Title, page #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial, ed., Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Example
Full Note:
1. Salman Rushdie, ed., The Ground Beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 25.
Concise Note:
2. Rushdie, ed., The Ground beneath, 25.
Bibliography:
Rushdie, Salman, ed., The Ground Beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, DOI OR URL of journal article web page OR Name of database.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article. DOI OR URL of journal article web page OR Name of database.
Example
Full Note:
1. Valerie Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democritization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience," World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 168, http://www.jstor.org/stable/25054217.
Shortened Note:
2. Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democritization," 168.
Bibliography:
Bunce, Valerie. "Rethinking Recent Democritization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience." World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 167-192. http://www.jstor.org/stable/25054217.
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), doi:
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, Book Title, page #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. doi:
Example
Full Note:
1. Elliot Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok (New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.
Shortened Note:
2. Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism.
Bibliography:
Antokoletz, Elliot. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day, Year, URL.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Article Title," paragraph #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year. URL.
Example
Full Note:
1. Jason G. Goldman, "Lizards Learn a Silly Walk after Losing Their Tail," Scientific American, December 1, 2017, https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/lizards-learn-a-silly-walk-after-losing-their-tail/.
Shortened Note:
2. Goldman, "Lizards Learn a Silly Walk after Losing Their Tail," para. 3.
Bibliography:
Goldman, Jason G. "Lizards Learn a Silly Walk after Losing Their Tail." Scientific American, December 1, 2017. https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/lizards-learn-a-silly-walk-after-losing-their-tail/.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Article Title."
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year.
Example
Full Note:
1. Laurie Goodstein and William Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage," New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.
Shortened Note:
2. Goodstein and Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads."
Bibliography:
Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Title of Page," Title or Owner of Site, date last modified or accessed, URL.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Title of Page."
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Page." Title or Owner of Site. Date last modified or accessed. URL.
Examples
Full Note:
1. K. A. Johnson and J. A. Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas," Harvard University Medical School, accessed April 29, 2011, http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.
Shortened Note:
2. Johnson and Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas."
Bibliography:
Johnson, K. A., and J. A. Becker. "The Whole Brain Atlas." Harvard University Medical School. Accessed April 29, 2011. http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.
Full note
Title of Film in Title Case and Italics, directed by Director (year originally released; Place of Publication: Publisher, year published of the copy you are using), medium or DOI or URL.
Shortened note
Title of Film in Title Case and Italics.
Bibliography
Director Last Name, Director First Name, dir. Title of Film in Title Case and Italics. Year originally released; Place of Publication: Publisher, year published of the copy you are using. Medium or DOI or URL.
Examples
Full note
The Invisible War, directed by Kirby Dick (2012; Los Angeles, CA: Docurama, 2012), http://www.netflix.com.
Shortened Note
The Invisible War.
Bibliography
Dick, Kirby, dir. The Invisible War. 2012; Los Angeles, CA: Docurama, 2012. http://www.netflix.com.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Name of the Lesson," Course code: Name of the course (class handout, Name of the School, City, Province, Date (month day, year).
Bibliography:
Author First Name Surname, "Name of the Lesson," Course code: Name of the course. Class handout at Name of the School, City, Province, Date (month day, year).
Full Note
1. Allen Seager, "Women and the Church in New France," History 204: The Social History of Canada (class lecture, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, January 13, 2011).
Shortened Note
Bibliography
Seager, Allen. "Women and the Church in New France." History 204: The Social History of Canada. Class lecture at Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, January 13, 2011.
Cited same as the book.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, Book Title, page #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Example
Full Note:
1. Salman Rushdie, The Ground Beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 25.
Shortened Note:
2. Rushdie, The Ground beneath, 28.
Bibliography:
Rushdie, Salman. The Ground Beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.
General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Title of the video" Multimedia Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Format, URL.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, Multimedia Title.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Multimedia Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Format, URL.
Example: YouTube Video
Full Note:
1. Neil Gaiman, "How Stories Last," Long Now Foundation, posted May 3, 2013, YouTube video, 1:43:27, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn2n7N7Q2vw.
Shortened Note:
2. Gaiman, "How Stories Last."
Bibliography:
Gaiman, Neil. " How Stories Last." Long Now Foundation. Posted on May 3, 2013. YouTube video, 1:47:27. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn2n7N7Q2vw.
General Format
Full Note:
1. First Name Lastname of Creator, "Title of Work" publication date, an indication of format/medium, running time, URL.
Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Episode Title".
Bibliography:
Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Work. Season number, episode number, “Episode Title.” Aired Month day, year, on Network Name. URL.
Example
1. Stephen Dubner “How Much Does Your Name Matter?” April 8, 2013, in Freakonomics Radio, podcast, 49:52, http://www.freakonomics.com /podcast/how-much-does-your-name-matter-a-new-freakonomics-radio-podcast/.
Shortened note:
2. Dubner, "How Much Does Your Name Matter?”.
Bibliography
Dubner, Stephen. “How Much Does Your Name Matter?” Freakonomics Radio. April 8, 2013. Podcast, 49:52. http://www.freakonomics.com/podcast /howmuch-does-your-name-matter-a-new-freakonomics-radio-podcast/
