Skip to Main Content

PPL2O - Health issues: APA

APA Citation Style

APA Style

Please note that APA is now updated to 7th ed.
American Psychological Association (APA) style is commonly used for citing references in science and social science courses, such as Nursing, Psychology, Education, and Social Work. APA Style requires you to cite your sources in the text of your paper using the author-date. Include author, year, page(s). Provide the full citation in your reference list. Cite the source of all material you quote, paraphrase, or summarize.

Sources to help you learn how to cite:
Owl Purdue
APA style

APA Style Citation - 7.ed

In-Text Citation
Include an in-text citation when referring to, summarizing, paraphrasing, or quoting another source. For every in-text citation in your paper, there must be a corresponding entry in your reference list.

APA in-text citation style uses the author's last name and the year of publication, for example: (Field, 2005). 
For direct quotations, include the page number as well, for example: (Field, 2005, p. 14). For sources such as websites and e-books that have no page numbers, use a paragraph number, for example: (Field, 2005, para. 1). 

In his scholarly study, Dr. Seuss observed that "the quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog" (2007, pp. 7-8).
When you use the author's last name in the narrative of your paper, leave their name out of the parentheses.

In 2007, Dr. Seuss suggested that "the quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog" (pp. 7-8).
"The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog" (Seuss, 2007, pp. 7-8).​
 

Type of Citation In-text
One work by one author (Walker, 2007)
One work by two authors (Walker & Allen, 2004)
One work by three or more authors (Bradley et al., 1999)
One work by six or more authors

(Wasserstein et al., 2005)
Unknown author ("Using Citations," 2001).
No author, no date ("Tutoring and APA," n.d.).

1. Always start your reference list on a new page.

2. Page title - The word References should appear centered at the top of the page. If you have only 1 citation the title should be Reference.

3. Line Spacing - Double space between each line.

4. Alignment - The first line of each entry should align with the left margin. All subsequent lines should be indented 5 spaces or set a hanging indent at 1/2 inch.

5. Order of entries - Alphabetical order by author. If there is no author, use the title of the document. If you have more than one entry by the same author, then arrange by year beginning with the earliest publication. 

Book with one to 20 authors

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Book title: Subtitle. Publisher.

Franks, A. (2005). Margaret Sanger's eugenic legacy: The control of female fertility. McFarland & Company.


Book with two authors

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Book title: Subtitle. Publisher.
Burley, J., & Harris, J. (Eds.). (2002). A companion to genetics. Blackwell.

 

Edited book, no author

Editor, E. E. (Ed.). (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Publisher.

Leitch, M. G., & Rushton, C. J. (Eds.). (2019). A new companion to Malory. D. S. Brewer.

Website

Author's last name, Initial. (Last updated/published date; if not known, put n.d.). Title of specific document. Site name (if needed). URL of a specific document

Ahmadi, S. (2018). Lesson plan: Filter bubbles. Digital Writing & Research Lab. https://www.dwrl.utexas.edu/2018/01/02/lesson-plan-filter-bubbles 

Organization as author

Group name. (Year, Month Date). Title of page. Site name. URL

American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. (2019, November 21). Justice served: Case closed for over 40 dogfighting victims. https://www.aspca.org/news/justice-served-case-closed-over-40-dogfighting-victims
 
No Author
 
Title of article. (Last update or copyright date; if not known, put n.d.). Website name (if needed). URL of a specific article
 
Lateral Epicondylitis (Tennis Elbow). (n.d.). Johns Hopkins Medicine. https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/lateral-epicondylitis-tennis-elbow

Database / Journal Articles

Author's Surname, A. A., & Author's Surname, B. B. (Date). Title of article: Subtitle. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page numbers of the whole article. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/xxxx.

Pettigrew, T. F. (2009). Secondary transfer effect of contact: Do intergroup contact effects spread to noncontacted outgroups? Social Psychology, 40(2), 55-65. http://doi.org/10.1027/1864-9335.40.2.55

 

DOI (Digital Object Identifier) -  is a unique alphanumeric string used to provide a persistent link to its location on the Web.

Where to find the DOI?

  • Usually located on the first page of an electronic journal article, near the copyright notice or near the author's address.
  • May also be found in the Full Record Display of an article in a database, with the field labeled DOI.
  • Use this format for DOI in your references: doi:xxxxxxxxxxxx

 

Last Name, A. (Date). Title of the article. Title of the newspaper. URL

Guarino, B. (2017, December 4). How will humanity react to alien life? Psychologists have some predictions. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/speaking-of-science/wp/2017/12/04/how-will-humanity-react-to-alien-life-psychologists-have-some-predictions/ 

Formula

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year, Month Day). Article title: Subtitle. Magazine Title, Volume(issue), page range. URL of magazine home page [if viewed online].
 

Example
Henry, W. A., & Mehta, N. S. (1990, April 9). Beyond the melting pot. Time, 135, 28-31.

Report by a Group Author

World Health Organization. (2014). Comprehensive implementation plan on maternal, infant and young child nutrition. https://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/handle/10665/113048/WHO_NMH_NHD_14.1_eng.pdf 

 

Report by Individual Authors

Winthrop, R., Ziegler, L., Handa, R., & Fakoya, F. (2019). How playful learning can help leapfrog progress in education. Center for Universal Education at Brookings. https://www.brookings.edu/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/how_playful_learning_can_help_leapfrog_progress_in_education.pdf

Online Encyclopedia Entry

Author A. A. (Date). Title of entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), In Name of dictionary/encyclopedia. Retrieved date from DOI/URL.

Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.)., The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https:plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/entries/behaviorism 

 

Digitized Encyclopedia (in databases like Gale, JSTOR, Proquest...)

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book: Vol.#. (no ed., pp. page range). Publisher. URL

Oberhauser, K. S. (2011). Monarch Butterfly. In Environmental Encyclopedia (4th ed., Vol 2 , pp. 1091-1093). Gale.  https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1918700949/GVRL?u=tplmain&sid=GVRL&xid=d5ca3ac9 


If there are no named authors or editors, treat the company responsible for the dictionary/encyclopedia (e.g. Merriam-Webster, Macquarie University, Oxford University Press) as a corporate author:

Corporate Author. (Date). Dictionary/Encyclopedia entry. In Name of dictionary/encyclopedia (edition, if not the first). Publisher.

 

Printed Encyclopedia Entry

Institution or organization name. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher name.

​Kernen, L. (2014). Biopreparedness and biosecurity. In T. L. Thompson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of health communication (Vol. 1, pp. 113-116). SAGE Reference.

Zalta, E. N. (Ed.). (2019). The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/
 

YouTube Video

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. OR Author screen name. (Year, Month Day {of video post}). Title of video [Video]. Title of the website. URL of specific video

Norton, R. (2006, November 4). How to train a cat to operate a light switch [Video file]. YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vja83KLQXZs 

Personal interviews are those conducted by yourself to obtain information and to support a key point in your paper, for example, an email requesting information. As readers cannot retrieve this type of interview, cite it as Personal communication. Personal interviews are not included in the reference list; only cited as in-text references. Give the initial(s) and surname of the communicator and provide as exact a date as possible using the format given below.

(A. Last Name, personal communication, Date)

Example
(T. Nguyen, personal communication, February 24, 2020) 

Blog

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. OR Author screen name {as it appears on the blog}. (Year, Month Day {of post}). Title of a specific post. Site name (if needed). URL of the specific post

MiddleKid. (2007, January 22). Re: The unfortunate prerequisites and consequences of partitioning your mind. Science. http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/2007/01/the_unfortunate_prerequisites.php

Web Image

Author's Last Name, First Name Initial. (Date). Title of work [Type of work]. Title of the Website. URL 

Baumel, A. (2010). Cholera treatment center in Haiti [Online image]. Doctors Without Borders. https://www.doctorswithoutborders.org 

No Author:

Flu epidemic [Online image]. (1919). History. http://www.history.net/photo/flu-epidemic-art/collections

No Author, No Title, No Date:

[Untitled illustration of a sleeping dog]. Sleeping Animals. http://www.sleepinganimals/pix.com

Podcast

Host Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. OR Host screen name. (Host). (Year, Month Day {of podcast}). Title of podcast [Audio podcast]. Website. URL of podcast

Vedantam, S. (Host). (2015-present). Hidden brain [Audio podcast]. NPR. https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510308/hidden-brain

Tip: If you accessed the podcast via an app and do not know the URL, omit it.

Document/ Powerpoint from OneNote
Teacher's Last Name, First Initial. (Year Handout Was Created if known). Title of the handout: Subtitle [Power Point]. Retrieved from OneNote

 

Series 

"Title of Episode." Title of TV Series, Contributors Name(s), season, episode,  Production Company, Year of Release. Name of Streaming Website, URL. 


Works Cited List Example
"The One Where Chandler Can't Cry." Friends, created by Marta Kauffman, performance by Matthew Perry, season 6, episode 14, Warner Brothers, 2004. Crave, www.crave.ca.

 

Movie

Title of Movie. Contributor(s). Publisher/Production Company, Year of Release. Name of Streaming Service.

Works Cited List Example
Coraline. Directed by Henry Selick, screenplay by Henry Selick and Neil Gaiman, Laika, 2009. Netflix.

OpenAI. (Mar 14 version). ChatGPT: AI MLanguage Model. OpenAI. https://chat.openai.com/chat

Reference list example
OpenAI. (Mar 14 version). ChatGPT: AI MLanguage Model. OpenAI. https://chat.openai.com/chat